Tahini is a paste made from ground peeled or unpeeled sesame seeds. Tahini from unpeeled sesame seeds is dark and bitter but contains more vitamins. Tahini from peeled sesame seeds is called "white tahini". Tahinis are often made of two sesame seeds. The paste seasons meat and vegetable dishes in Oriental cuisine and is a healthy alternative to spreads and jams. Therefore, it is very popular with vegetarians and vegans.